Longest Six in IPL History | How Far Can These Batsmen smash It?

IPL Batters with the monster sixes

The IPL has seen some spectacular sixes being hit by some of the most powerful batters in the world. The longest six in IPL history is a testament to the skill and power of these players. In this blog post, we will take a look at the longest six in IPL history and how far these batters can actually smash it. So, let’s dive into the world of the longest six in IPL history and see who has the biggest hit!

1- Albie Morkel – 125m

When we talk about the longest six in IPL cricket history, Albie Morkel’s name comes at the top. The South African cricketer holds the record for the longest six in IPL cricket history. He smashed a massive 125m six during a match between Chennai Super Kings and Deccan Chargers in 2010.

Morkel’s blast off Pragyan Ojha’s delivery and set a new record for the longest six in IPL history. His incredible hit took everyone by surprise.

To this day, Morkel’s shot remains the longest six in cricket history. It is no wonder why he is hailed as one of the greatest hitters to have played the game.

2- Praveen Kumar – 124m

Praveen Kumar is one of the most formidable bowlers in the history of the Indian Premier League. He is also the holder of the second-longest six in the IPL with a whopping 124 meters.

Praveen was known for his powerful strokes and excellent timing. His ability to pick up length balls quickly and launch them for long distances made him a favorite amongst fans. The ball that he hit for this record-breaking six was a full-toss delivery from Shane Warne and Parveen effortlessly smashed it into the stands to secure his place in the top 10 longest sixes in IPL history.

The fact that Praveen Kumar’s six was able to reach such a tremendous distance is a testament to his batting prowess. His phenomenal strength and power enabled him to effortlessly clear the boundary line and make a mark in the annals of cricket history.

3- Adam Gilchrist – 122m

Adam Gilchrist is one of the most iconic players in Indian Premier League (IPL) history, having been part of the IPL since its inception in 2008. He is well known for his big hitting and innovative shots, and he has certainly proved this with his longest six in IPL history, which was 122 meters.

He achieved this feat when playing against the RCB. This 122-meter hit is not only the longest six in IPL history but also ranks among the top 10 longest sixes in IPL history. His six was also the third-longest six recorded in cricket history, behind Albie Morkel’s 125m six hit in 2010 and Praveen Kumar’s 124m six.

Adam Gilchrist’s record-breaking six highlights his ability to hit huge shots and is a reminder of why he is one of the greatest players to ever grace the IPL.

4- Robin Uthappa- 120m

At the top 10 list of longest sixes in Indian Premier League (IPL) history is Robin Uttahppa’s massive 120-meter hit. It was in the IPL match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians in 2010 when Uttahppa smashed this massive six.

The six was hit off the bowling of West Indian Cricketer Dwayne Bravo and it went flying over the mid-wicket fence and into the stands. This shot is still remembered by cricket fans all around the world, and it is considered one of the longest sixes in IPL history.

Uttahppa had a great IPL career with Royal Challengers. His shot was a crucial part of the victory as it provided some much-needed momentum to his team’s batting lineup.

Although Uttahppa is not among the most popular players in IPL history, his 120-meter hit will always be remembered by fans and cricket pundits alike. It remains one of the longest sixes ever hit in cricket history, and it will remain one of the greatest moments of IPL history.

5- Chris Gayle – 119m

Chris Gayle is one of the most prolific batsmen in cricket history, and he holds the record for the longest six-ever hit in IPL history. In 2013, during a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Pune Warriors, Chris Gayle smashed a 119-meter six which was recorded as the longest six in IPL history. It was a massive feat by Chris Gayle to be able to hit such a long ball over the boundary.

There have been some other remarkable feats of power hitting throughout the course of IPL history, including Yuvraj Singh’s 118m six in the 2009 season.

It is an incredible achievement for any batsman to be able to hit a ball so far, and it just goes to show how powerful Gayle is as a batsman. It is not just Gayle who can hit long balls; there are many other players who are capable of hitting similar distances. However, it is Gayle who has achieved the record for the longest six in IPL history and remains at the top of the list for the Top 10 Longest Sixes in IPL History.

Remaining Five

6Yuvraj Singh2009Punjab Kings119m
7R Taylor2008RCB119m
8G Gambhir2017KKR117m
9B Cutting2016Sunrisers Hyderabad117m
10L Livingstone2022Punjab Kings117m

Sixes record in IPL 2022 season

Rank Player TeamSix Distance
1L LivingstonePunjab Kings117m
2D BrevisMumbai Indians112m
3L LivingstonePunjab Kings108m
4J ButtlerRajasthan Royals107m
5L LivingstonePunjab kings106m
6J ButtlerRajasthan Royals105m
7L LivingstonePunjab Kings105m
8M StoinisLSG104m
9D BrevisMumbai Indians102m
10Shivam DubeCSK102m

Leave a Comment